VMEC Operations Committee Leadership Update

VMEC is happy to announce that David Bostedo from BAE Systems, has stepped up to be the new Chair of the Operations Committee.  Dave has served the VMEC most recently as the Summer Scholars Chair. We would like to extend our heartfelt gratitude to Mircea R. Stan from the University of Virginia for his  leadership as the Chair of the Operations Committee over the past two years. We are also delighted to welcome Peng Cheng from Virginia State University, who has enthusiastically embraced the role of the Summer Scholars Chair.

2023 VMEC Seed Grants Announced

VMEC is pleased to announce that the following two proposals have been selected for funding this year.

1) Ultralow-power straintronic switch implemented with a nanomagnet and a topological insulator for “processor in memory” architectures

Supriyo Bandyopadhyay, Virginia Commonwealth University and Avik Ghosh, University of Virginia

2) Inter- and Intra-Array Thermal Cross-Talk in Stacks of Resistive RAM Memory Cells

Marius Orlowski, Virginia Tech; Hani Elsayed-Ali, Old Dominion University; and Hannes Schniepp, William & Mary

2023 Summer Scholars Named

VMEC is pleased to announce the selection of the following students from our participating educational institutions as VMEC Summer Scholars for 2023.

Scholar University Will be working at
Alison Aldrich Old Dominion University Micron Technology
Farhan Babar George Mason University BAE Systems
Joshua Blum Virginia Commonwealth University Virginia State University
Michaela Bochman Old Dominion University BAE Systems
Andrew Cash George Mason University Micron Technology
Grace Cha William & Mary Micron Technology
Vik Diederich William & Mary University of Virginia
Khang Diep George Mason University BAE Systems
Connor Grimberg George Mason University Micron Technology
Brian Janicki William & Mary Virginia Commonwealth University
Zhiang Jiao University of Virginia Virginia Commonwealth University
Elizabeth Kwari George Mason University Micron Technology
Bernadette Kwari Virginia Commonwealth University Micron Technology
William Mbandi Old Dominion University Virginia Tech
Robert Merriman Virginia Commonwealth University Norfolk State University
Jennifer Shern University of Virginia Norfolk State University
Kevin Su William & Mary George Mason University
Justin Sumrell Old Dominion University William & Mary

VMEC Leadership for 2023-2024 Year

As per bylaws, the current Vice Chair, Dr. Khan Iftekharuddin (Old Dominion University) will take over as VMEC Executive Committee Chair on July 1, 2023. The Executive Committee, at its meeting on January 18, 2023 elected Mr. Delbert Parks (Micron Technology) as Vice Chair and Dr. Scott Barker (University of Virginia) as Treasurer for the 2023-2024 year.

2020 Summer Scholar News


2019 Summer Scholar News


2018 VMEC Scholar Winners Named


Scholar Selections to be Announced in December

This is a sample news post. Content goes here


2018 Equipment and Seed Grant

Applications are now being accepted for our 2018 Equipment ad Seed Grants.
More information and application for the VMEC 2018 Equipment and Seed Grant.

2017 VMEC Scholar Golden Award Winners